Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav (AKAM) Design Coins: Key Features

A special series of coins have been launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 6th June 2022. These newly launched coins are also ‘visually impaired friendly’. The coins are of Re 1, Rs 2, 5, 10, and 20 denominations and have the Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav (AKAM) design. These coins are not commemorative but will be a part of the circulation.

Where are coins minted in India?

The sole right to mint coins lies with the Government of India. The coins are minted by the central government under the terms of the Coinage Act, 2011. The minting and designing of coins in various denominations is also the Indian government’s responsibility. The government has four facilities where coins are minted and they are:

  • Alipore (Kolkata)
  • Mumbai
  • Cherlapally and Saifabad (both in Hyderabad)
  • NOIDA (UP).

The minted coins are issued for circulation via the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) under the terms of the RBI Act.

What denominations of coins are minted in India?

In India, coins are presently being issued in denominations of:

  • 50 paise
  • 1 rupee
  • 2 rupees
  • 5 rupees
  • 10 rupees
  • 20 rupees.

Coins that are up to denominations of 50 paise are called ‘small coins’ and 1-rupee coins and above are called ‘Rupee Coins’. As per the Coinage Act, 2011, coins can be issued which are up to the denomination of Rs.1000.

How are coins distributed?

Coins are received from the mints and then they are brought into circulation through the RBI’s regional issue offices or sub-offices. A wide network of coin depots and currency chests are also maintained by Government treasuries and banks across the nation. Coins are issued to the public through the counters of these offices and coin remittances are also sent to the small coin depots and currency chests. Currently, there are 3784 small coin depots and 4422 currency chest branches across India.


Leave a Reply