Centre comes up with the sport committee for National Sports Awards 2020

The Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports on Friday came up with a selection committee for selecting awardees for various sports awards for the year 2020.

Awards Included:

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna,
  • Dronacharya Awards,
  • Arjuna Awards,
  • Dhyan Chand Awards,
  • Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar Award
  • Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy

About the committee:

Following the trend this year also single selection committee for all the sports awards is being made. Retired Justice of Supreme Court Justice Mukundakam Sharma is made the Chairperson of the Committee. The committee includes various others eminent personality from sports including Virendra Sehwag (Cricket), Sardar Singh (Hockey), Monalisa Baruah Mehta (Table Tennis), Deepa Malik (Para-athletics), Venkatesan Devarajan (Boxing) as well as well-known media persons including Sports Commentator Manish Batavia and Sports Journalists Alok Sinha and Neeru Bhatia. The selection committee will also have representation from the Sports Ministry, including Sports Authority of India Director General Sandip Pradhan, Joint Secretary (Sports Development) L S Singh and Target Olympic Podium Scheme (TOPS) CEO Rajesh Rajagopalan.

Other than this two additional members who have been Dronacharya Awardees may be invited by the Chairperson while considering the nomination for Dronacharya Award stated by a sports ministry release.