Flint Water Crisis

Recently, nine former officials were charged after a criminal investigation into the Flint Water Crisis in the state of Michigan, United States. The charges were announced after 12 months of jury proceedings. It was found that, these nine officials were indicted on a total of 42 counts related to a series of alleged actions and inaction. These actions and inactions had created the injustice of the Flint Water Crisis.

What is Flint Water Crisis?

  • This was a public health crisis which started in the year 2014 and continued until 2019.
  • During those years, the city of Flint, in Michigan got trapped with the Legionnaires disease. The disease had affected the city after the drinking water was contaminated with lead.
  • Later in 2014, the Flint changed its water source from treated Detroit Water and Sewerage Department water of Lake Huron to the Flint River.
  • Following this, the officials got failed to apply corrosion inhibitors to the water. Thus, the lead from aging pipes leached into the water supply and lead to extremely elevated levels of the heavy metal neurotoxin. It has exposed over 100,000 residents to elevated lead levels.
  • The city again switched to the Detroit water system on in the year 2015 and in 2017, It later signed a 30-year contract with the new Great Lakes Water Authority (GLWA).
  • Some, 6,000 and 12,000 children were exposed to drinking water with high levels of lead.
  • The change in the water supply was also considered a possible cause of an outbreak of Legionnaires' disease in the county which had killed 12 people and affected another 87.
  • In the year 2016, this was declared as an emergency in the state.

Legionnaires' disease

It a form of atypical pneumonia which is caused by any species of Legionella bacteria.  The signs and symptoms of the disease include cough, shortness of breath, high fever, muscle pains, and headaches. It could also lead to Nausea, vomiting, and diarrhea. The symptoms begin 2–10 days after exposure to the bacteria.

Lake Huron

It is one of the five Great Lakes of North America. The lake comprises the easterly portion of Lake Michigan–Huron. It is shared by the Canadian province of Ontario in the north and east and by the state of Michigan in south and west in the United States. Its name has been derived from early French explorers who named it for the Huron people who were inhabiting the region. The main inlet of the lake is St. Marys River while the outlet is the St. Clair River.

Written by IAS POINT

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply