India’s entry to United Nation’s Commission on Status of Women: Important facts

The permanent representative of India to the United Nations, Sh. TS Tirumurti confirmed India’s entry as a member of the United Nation’s Commission on Status of Women (CSW). It is a body of the prestigious Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).

Who were the other participants?

Apart from India, the elections to become a member of the Commission on Status of Women had been participated by Afghanistan and China. India and Afghanistan managed to win the ballot among the 54 members but China failed to cross the halfway.

What is the Significance of this membership?

India is going to be a member of the Commission on Status of Women for a time period of four years starting from 2021 to 2025. It will strengthen the initiatives taken by India on the issue of women’s empowerment and promoting gender equality.

What is the function of UN-CSW?

Commission on the Status of Women is the prime global intergovernmental body that was established in 1946 for the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women.

What is ECOSOC?

United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is a principal organ of the United Nations. It is responsible for coordinating the economic, social, and other activities of 15 UN specialized agencies, their functional commissions, and five regional commissions.

United Nations

The United Nations is an intergovernmental organization, established in 1945 with the aim of maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among the nations, achieving international cooperation, etc. The current Secretary?General of the United Nations is Mr. Antonio Guterres.