Significance of the New Space Centre of NATO.

The North Atlantic Treaty organisation (NATO) will setup a new Space Centre in Ramstein, Germany. The centre will serve as a co-ordination Centre for space observation. It will gather information regarding the possible threats that satellites might face. The centre will be developed as a command centre for defensive measures in future. This centre is being setup under Article 5 of the North Atlantic Treaty organisation.

Significance of the move

This is a countermeasure against the aggressive policies of China and Russia. NATO countries are developing anti-satellite systems in order to disable the blind satellites that create dangerous debris in the orbit.

Article 5 of NATO

Article 5 empowers the NATO to take collective defence action. It provides certain criteria under which NATO take defensive measures. The article has been invoked several times by NATO in situations including the Syrian crisis, Russia-Ukraine crisis and 26/11 attack on US. Article 5 states that an armed attack against one or more of the NATO countries in North America or Europe is considered as an attack on all the member countries.

Ground stations by NATO

NATO currently controls more than 24 satellite ground stations. One of its ground station named Kester satellite ground station is located in Belgium and it is considered as centre of the space communication among NATO countries. There are other 4 stations that re considered as Central hub. Out of total satellites orbiting the Earth, half are operated by the NATO countries. This is why, NATO countries are concerned about safeguarding their space resources.

North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)

NATO is also called as the North Atlantic Alliance. It is an intergovernmental military alliance. It comprises of  30 North American and European countries. It implements the North Atlantic Treaty that was signed on 4 April 1949. The organisation constitutes a system of collective defence under which the  independent member states agree for mutual defence against the attack by any external party. It is headquartered in Evere, Brussels, Belgium while the Headquarters of Allied Command Operations is in Mons, Belgium. Originally, NATO has 12 members which has now been increased to 30. North Macedonia is the most recent member that joined the grouping on 27 March 2020.