Third phase of National Supercomputing Mission to commence in January 2021

The Department of Science and Technology has announced on October 21, 2020 that the third phase of National Supercomputing Mission will commence in January 2021. The third phase of the mission will increase the computing speed to 45 petaflops.


The  Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (C-DAC) and the National Supercomputing Mission signed agreement on October 12, 2020 with the leading institutes of India. Under the agreement,  manufacturing units and assembly units of super computers will be established in the Premier Institutes of the country. The agreement comply with the Aatmanirbhar Bharat abhiyaan.

National Supercomputing Mission

C-DAC is implementing this mission with an aim to empower the national academic Institutions and the research and development in the country. This will help in  installing the supercomputing systems in those institutions. Under the mission, supercomputing grid is being established with 70 high performance computing facility. The mission is being implemented in phased manner. All the three phases seeks to provide high-speed high-performance computing facilities in more than 75 institutions of India.

Phase 1 of the mission

Under this phase , supercomputing speed of 6.6 petaflops was achieved.

Phase 2 of the mission

Under phase 2, 8 more Institutions are being equipped with supercomputing facilities by April 2021.  Phase 2 of the mission aims to attain a speed of 10 petaflops.

Phase 3 of the mission

It will began in January 2021 and will attain the supercomputing speed of 45 petaflops.

Supercomputers in India

Param Shivay was the first supercomputer to be assembled indigenously under the National supercomputing mission. The supercomputer was installed in IIT Bhubaneswar.  Param Shakti and Param Brahma were other supercomputers under the mission and were installed at IIT Kharagpur and IISER Pune respectively.