Union Minister Jitendra Singh Addresses First Ministerial Meeting of G-20 Anti-Corruption Working Group.

Union Minister Jitendra Singh addressed the first ministerial meeting of G-20 anti-corruption working group on October 22, 2020. Saudi Arabia became the first country to host the first ever meeting.

 Anti-Corruption Working Group of G-20

  • The was established in June 2010 at the G20 summit ,Toronto.
  • The objective of the group is to make suggestions on boosting international efforts in order to combat corruption.
  • The group works with the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, World Bank, Financial Action Task Force (FATF) and International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Anti-Corruption Plans by G-20 countries

The G-20 countries had agreed on the Anti-Corruption plan for 2019-2021 at Buenos Aires in 2018. The G-20 members planned to look forward to develop targeted actions in promoting the international efforts to combat the corruption.

G20 Countries

It is an international forum for the governments and central bank governors from 19 countries and the European Union (EU). The grouping was founded in 1999. The grouping is aimed at discussing the policy to promote the international financial stability. The G-20 Presidency is hold by the member countries every year on rotational basis. Saudi Arabia is holding the presidency in 2020. It is a common platform to discuss and frame solutions so there is no permanent secretariat for G20.

Current Affairs