Foundation stone of Indo-Israeli Centre of Excellence for Vegetables Protected Cultivation.

The Chief Minister of Assam, Sabananda Sonowal, had laid down the foundation stone of Indo-Israeli Centre of Excellence for vegetables Protected Cultivation on November 2, 2020. The centre of excellence has to be established in Khetri in the outskirts of Guwahati, Assam.


This centre will be providing exposure to the latest Israeli technologies to the farmers of the state. It would help farmers in maximising their production. It will provide a major boost to agricultural and horticultural production in Assam. The primary aim of the establishment of centre is to double farmers’ income in the region. This would double the income by infusing technology in agribusiness, agriculture and food processing.

Significance of Assam

The state of Assam has undergone substantial improvement in road, air and river connectivity in the recent times. The state is also becoming a promising destination for the trade, travel, cultural exchange, commerce and tourism. This in turn has become a gateway to ASEAN and South East Asia under the Act East Policy.

Indo-Israel cooperation

The Centres of Excellence under India-Israel cooperation has been established across the states of Haryana, Karnataka, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Mizoram, Andhra Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh. Further, both the countries had signed India-Israel Action Plan in 2006. The action plan was launched in three phases:

  1. Phase 1: Phase 1 was implemented during 2008 and 2010. Under this,  technologies were transferred from Israel to India including the horticulture mechanization, orchard and canopy management, protected cultivation, nursery management and micro irrigation. Haryana and Maharashtra were the primary focus.
  • Phase 2:  Phase 2 was implemented during 2012 and 2015. Under this, Karnataka, Gujarat and Rajasthan were added to the plan.  In this phase the focus was on activities such as water use efficiency, post harvest management, waste water use, dairying.  The phase was further extended to include Tamil Nadu and Punjab.
  • Phase 3: The 3rd phase was implemented during 2015 and 2018. The states such as Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Himachal Pradesh, West Bengal, Mizoram, Tripura, Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Kerala, Jharkhand were included under the action plan.