Gulf Co-operation Council

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) is a political and economic union of six Arab states located in the Persian Gulf region. Formed in 1981, the GCC’s primary objective is to promote unity and cooperation among its member states in political, economic, and social matters. The member states of the GCC are Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

Composition of the GCC

The GCC member states have a combined area of approximately 1.9 million square miles, and their populations are estimated to be around 50 million people. The six member states have a rich cultural heritage and a diverse range of ethnic and linguistic backgrounds, which are predominantly Arab and Muslim. The GCC is a regional leader in oil and natural gas production, and its member states are considered some of the richest countries in the world.

Indian Migrant Population in the GCC

India has a large and diverse population of migrant workers who are employed in various countries across the world, including the GCC. According to the Indian government, around half of India’s migrant population works in the GCC countries, with most of them being semi-skilled or unskilled workers. However, there is also a significant number of white-collar professionals such as doctors, engineers, architects, chartered accountants, and bankers, who make up 20-23% of the total migrant population in the GCC.

Importance of the GCC for India

The GCC is a crucial economic partner for India, and the relationship between the two has been growing over the years. The GCC countries are major suppliers of oil and natural gas to India, and this energy relationship has been a key factor in the development of the economic relationship between the two regions. In addition, the remittances sent back by Indian workers in the GCC form a significant portion of India’s foreign exchange earnings, which is an important source of income for the country.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply