India to Chair 3 Important Committees of UNSC

India will head three important committees of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC). This was informed by the Indian Ambassador to the UN, TS Tirumurti. Recently, India began its 8th term as a non-permanent member of the UNSC.

Key Points

  • The three committees that India will be heading are the Taliban Sanctions Committee, Libya Sanctions Committee, and the Counterterrorism Committee.
  • The Taliban Sanctions Committee has been a priority for India. Heading this Committee will help the country to focus on the terrorists and their sponsors in Afghanistan. The committee is also known as the 1988 Sanctions Committee.
  • The Libya Sanctions Committee implements the sanctions regime, including an assets freeze, a two-way arms embargo on Libya, a travel ban, and measures on illicit export of petroleum.
  • India will also head the Counterterrorism Committee in the year 2022. The committee was formed after the 9/11 terrorist attack in New York in September 2001. The chairmanship of the committee also coincides with the 75th Anniversary of Indian Independence. India had also chaired this committee in the year 2011-12.

India won the 8th term in UNSC in June 2020 after getting 184 of the 192 votes. Previous terms of India in UNSC were in the years 1950-1951, 1967-1968, 1972-1973, 1977-1978, 1984-1985 and 1991-1992, 2011-12.

Current Affairs