October 13- International Day for Disaster Risk Reduction

The United Nations observe the International Day for Disaster Reduction on October 13 annually. This dai is also called as the World Calamity Control Day.  The day is observed to spread awareness about how people and communities across the world are reducing their exposure to disasters. This year the day is being observed under the Theme: Disaster Risk Governance. In India, Himachal Pradesh State Disaster Management Authority (HPSDMA) would be celebrating the day like every year. HPSDMA would carry forward the 10th edition awareness campaign on disaster risk reduction called ‘Samarth’.


The United Nations had started observing the day in 1989. After that, The United Nations also adopted the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction in 2015.

Sendai Framework

Under the framework,  seven strategic targets and 38 indicators had been set in order to audit the progress of reducing disaster losses. The year wise seven strategic targets include:

  1. 2016- Target 1: To reduce global disaster mortality rate in between 2020-2030 as compared to 2005-15.
  2. 2017- Target 2: To reduce number of people getting affected amid the disaster globally.
  3. 2018- Target 3: To reduce economic losses.
  4. 2019- Target 4: To combat the disruption of basic services.
  5. 2020- Target 5: To encourage more countries to adopt the National Disaster Risk Reduction Strategies by 2020. Thus, it aims to increase the number of countries with the risk mitigation strategy.
  6. 2021- Target 6: To strengthen the international cooperation by a sustainable and adequate support
  7. 2022- Target 7: To boost the availability of multi-hazard warning systems and assessments.

India’s Plan

India had framed National Disaster Management Plan on the basis of Sendai Framework.  It also constituted the Disaster Management Act, 2005.

National Disaster Management Plan

The plan were framed with an  aim to make India disaster resilient.  It contains an integrated framework to prevent, mitigate, respond and recover from disasters. Guidelines were made for 18 broad activities some of which include- Evacuation of people and animals, early warning systems, Search and rescue of animals and people, medical care , food and essential supplies etc.