Portugal’s Duarte Pacheco elected as new President of Inter Parliamentary Union.

Duarte Pacheco has been elected as the new President of Inter Parliamentary Union on November 2, 2020. He has been elected as President of the union for the period of 2020 and 2023. The former president of the Inter Parliamentary Union was Mexican MP Gabriela Cuevas Barron.


The 206th session of the Inter Parliamentary Union began on November 1, 2020. In the session, India was represented by the Lok Sabha Speaker Shri Om Birla. The session was attended by the Officers from 144 parliaments . The session was led by the India’s Lok Sabha speaker Om Birla. At the session, Pakistani Senate Chairman Sanjirani lost badly to the Portuguese candidate. Also, India had opposed the candidature of Pakistan in the Union.

Inter Parliamentary Union (IPU)

The Inter Parliamentary Union was established in 1889. The primary purpose of the establishment of the union is to promote democratic governance, cooperation and accountability. The parliamentary Union has played a major role in establishing United Nations, Permanent Court of Arbitration and League of Nations. The Slogan of the union  is “For Democracy, For Everyone”.  The IPU comprises a Governing Council, Assembly, Executive Committee, IPU President and a Secretariat. There are six Geo Political Groups of IPU namely Africa, Eurasia, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, Arab Group and Twelve Plus. India belongs to the Asia-Pacific group.

Significance of IPU

The IPU played a significant role during the World War. In between the two world wars, IPU had intensified its work for the peaceful settlement of international disputes. It also  codified the  social and humanitarian policies, economic questions , colonial problems and intellectual relations.