Rafael Nadal wins his 13th French Open men’s singles title

Rafael Nadal has won the French Open, 2020 beating Novak Djokovic on October 11, 2020. With this, Rafael has won his 13th French open men’s singles title. This is also his 20th Grand Slam .

French Open, 2020

Iga Swiatek won the French Open female’s single title. She marked the record of being the first player from Poland to win a Grand Slam.

Grand Slam

The Grand Slam Tournaments are also known as the Majors. Grand Slam tournaments are organised by the International Tennis Federation. Association of Tennis Professionals and Women Tennis Association have no roles in Grand Slam. They are the four most important annual tennis events that include the US Open, French Open, Australian Open and Wimbledon.

  1. French Open : It is also called Roland Garros, is conducted during late May-early June. It is played on clay.
  2. Australian Open: It is conducted in mid January and is held in hard courts.
  3. Wimbledon: It is played in June-July and Is organised on grass courts.
  4. US-open: It is conducted in August-September and is held in hard courts.

Iga Swiatek

She is from Poland and is ranked at 48 by the Women Tennis Association. She is also the third highest ranked teenager from across the world.

Rafael Nadal

He is a Spanish Tennis player and is ranked at 2 by the Association of Tennis Professionals (ATP). As of now, he has won 2 Olympic medals, 21 ATP Tour 500 titles, 35 ATP Tour Masters 1000 titles. He has also won 13 French Open, 1 Australian open, 2 Wimbledon and 4 US open. He is the only one player with the most clay court titles because of which he is called as “The King of Clay” in Tennis.

Novak Djokovic

He is a Serbian player. He has been ranked at number 1 by the Association of Tennis Professionals. He has achieved17 Grand Slams, 14 ATP Tour 500 titles, 36 ATP Tour Masters 1000 Titles. He is the second player to be at number one spot for over 289 weeks.