Tamil Nadu tops the ‘Best State’ Category under the National Water Awards 2019.

The Tamil Nadu government has topped the ‘best state’ category under the National Water Awards 2019. In total, the state of Tamil Nadu has won seven prizes in different categories.


  • The awards will be presented on November 11 and 12.
  • Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Union Minister for Jal Shakti Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Union Minister of State for Jal Shakti Rattan Lal Kataria and Union Minister of Environment Prakash Javadekar would be present during the award presentation ceremony.
  •  PWD Secretary K Manivasan will receive the first prize in the National Water Awards on the behalf of Tamil Nadu government.

‘Revival of River’ category

Under this category of award, Vellore and Karur districts received the first and second prizes.

‘Water Conservation’ at the national level

Under this category, Perambalur district received the second prize.

Best Urban Local Body Category

Under this category, Madurai Corporation won the second prize. It  took the water conservation efforts. In the year 2019, Madurai district had won the first prize for rejuvenating and creating new waterbodies.

 Water Warriors category

Under this category, Manikandan, Coimbatore and Sakthinathan Ganapathy Pandian of Anna University received the first and second prizes.

National Water Awards 2019

During the National Water Awards ceremony, 98 awards will be presented in 16 different categories including Best State, Best District, Best Urban Local Body, Best Village Panchayat, Best Research or Innovation or New Technology,  Best TV show, Best Newspaper, Best Education or Mass Awareness effort, Best School, Best Institution or RWA or Religious Organisation, Best Industry, Best Water Regulatory Authority, Best NGO, Best Water Warrior, Best Water User Association, and Best Industry for CSR Activity. These categories are further divided into sub-categories in different zones of the country.

The National Water Award were first launched in the year 2007. But the National Awards were organised in 2018 for the first time and awards were given in 2019. It was launched with an objective to encourage all stakeholder and the Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs), Gram Panchayats, Urban Local Bodies, Water User Associations,  Corporate Sector and the individuals to adopt innovative practices of ground water augmentation by rainwater harvesting and artificial recharge in order to promote water use efficiency and re-use of water. The awards are presented by the Department of Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation, Ministry of Jal Shakti.