Additional NDRF Assistance Released to 5 States

A high-level committee headed by Union Home Minister Amit Shah has given approval to additional Central assistance (funding) of Rs 1,751.05 crore to 5 States for the damage caused by landslips and floods last year.

Key Points

  • The five states which have been chosen for additional assistance by the Centre are- Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Telangana, Odisha, and Uttar Pradesh.
  • The committee has approved the financial assistance from the National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF).
  • According to the MHA statement, Rs 75.86 crore had been approved for Arunachal Pradesh, Rs 437.15 crore for Assam, Rs 245.96 crore for Telangana, Rs 320.94 crore for Odisha, and Rs 386.06 crore for Uttar Pradesh.
  • Rs 285.08 crore had also been approved for Uttar Pradesh for hailstorms during Rabi 2019-20.
  • The central government had created Inter-Ministerial Central Teams in all the 5 States exactly after such calamities like floods, landslips.
  • Other than this, during 2020-21, the Central government had released Rs 19,036.43 crore till date to 28 States from the State Disaster Response Fund and Rs 4,409.71 crore to 11 States from the NDRF.

National Disaster Response Fund

It is an Indian specialized force formed in the year 2006 for a special response to disaster under the Disaster Management Act, 2005. The National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) is the apex agency for Disaster Management in the country. The Prime Minister is the Chairman of the National Disaster Management Authority.

Current Affairs