What is African Union?

The African Union is a regional organisation consisting of 55 members from Africa. It was launched on 9th July 2002. This intergovernmental organisation replaces the Organisation of African Unity (OAU), which was established in 1963. It was established in line with the European Union, with more focus on the economic relations of the African countries.

The AU has suspended Mali’s membership and threatened it with sanctions in response to the coup d’etat in the African nation. The coup was spearheaded by former vice president Col. Assimi Goita. This is the second coup in nine months.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply