Arctic Council

The Arctic Council is an intergovernmental organisation consisting of Canada, the US, Finland, Iceland, Russia, Norway, Denmark and Sweden. It was established in 1996 to examine and address the impact of pollution and climate crisis on the Arctic and its residents. Six indigenous groups called permanent participants act as consultants of this Council. Iceland’s two-year term as chair is to come to an end and will be passed on to Russia after the upcoming 12th Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting.


Leave a Reply