Fourth of July

Fourth of July is a federal holiday observed in the US to mark the adoption of the Declaration of Independence by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776. On this day, American colonies achieved independence from the British rule.

This occasion witnesses annual parades, fireworks, carnivals, fairs, political speeches and numerous large-scale ceremonies. The first-ever celebration was observed in the White House in 1801. The tradition of fireworks originated in 1777 in the city of Philadelphia, marking the first anniversary of the independence. This year, the 245th anniversary of the American Independence is observed.

Written by IAS POINT

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply