National Commission for Backward Classes

"The National Backward Classes Finance and Development Corporation (NBCFDC) and the National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC) are two institutions which work together with the Backward Classes Divisions of the above ministry. "Through an Act of the Parliament passed in 1993, the National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC) has been established with a chairperson and four other members appointed by the central government each for a period of three years. "The first such commission came into existence in 1993 headed by Justice R.N. Prasad; second during 1997-2000, by Justice Shyam Sunder, third during 2000-2003, by Justice B.L. Yadav; fourth during 2003-2005, by Justice Ram Surat Singh, fifth during 2005-2006, by Ratnavel Padian; and sixth since 2010, by M.N. Rao.

"The functions and powers of NCBC include:

(a) summoning and enforcing the attendance of any person and examine him on oath;

(b) requiring the discovery and production of any document;

(c) receiving evidence on affidavits;

(d) requisitioning any public record or copy thereof from any office;

(e) issuing commissions for the examination of witnesses and documents; and

(f) any other related matter.

"The NCBC has all the powers of a civil court. "The advice of the Commission is ordinarily binding on the central government.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply