Nominations to National Start-up Advisory Council

Recently, the Central government has decided to nominate non-official members to the National Startup Advisory Council. Now, the government has nominated as many as 28 non-official members on the council.

Key Points

  • The 28 non-official members nominated to the National Startup Advisory Council include Byjus founder Byju Raveendran; Axilor Ventures chairman Kris Gopalkrishnan, ZestMoney co-founder Lizzie Chapman, Urban Company’s Abhiraj Singh, Nasscom’s Debjani Ghosh, and others.
  • These non-official members have been nominated to the council for a term of 2 years.
  • The National Startup Advisory Council has been set up by the Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT).
  • The council has been set up for advising the government on measures required to build an ecosystem for nurturing innovation and startups in the country.
  • National Startup Advisory Council will be responsible for suggesting measures to encourage innovation culture among students and citizens; promote creation; protection and commercialization of intellectual property rights; promote innovation in all sectors and across semi-urban and rural areas, and make it easier to start, operate, grow and exit businesses by reducing regulatory compliances and costs.

The central government has decided to nominate non-official members on the council. These non-official members will represent different stakeholders like veterans who have grown and scaled companies in India, founders of successful startups, persons capable of representing interests of incubators and accelerators, persons capable of representing the interest of investors into startups, representatives of industry associations, and representatives of associations of stakeholders of startups.

Current Affairs