Prasar Bharti Signed MoU to launch education TV channels.

The Prasar Bharati and Bhaskaracharya National Institute for Space Applications and Geo-Informatics signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on November 4, 2020. As per the MoU, all the 51 DTH education channels will be available to all DD Fresh Dish viewers as DD co-branded channels.


The 51 DTH educational channels include-  Swayamprabha, E-Vidya for Class 1 to 12, DigiShala and Vande Gujarat. These channels  would provide quality educational programmes to the rural and remote households. The services from these channels would be available free of cost to all the viewers 24/7. The channels would help the government of India (GOI) to achieve the target of providing “Education to all”.


The Study Webs of Active Learning for Young Aspiring Minds (SWAYAM) scheme was launched in 2017.  It was launched by the Ministry of Human Resource Development (which has now been named as Ministry of Education). The web provides an integrated platform and portal for online courses. The primary aim of SWAYAM is to ensure that every student gets access to best quality education at affordable cost in the country.


The SWAYAM Prabha scheme is being implemented by the Ministry of education. The scheme provides 32 high quality education channels in the remote households. These channel streamline the curriculum-based course content. The scheme was mainly launched in order to make quality learning resources available to remote areas where providing internet is still a challenge. The DTH channels uses GSAT-15 satellite in order to telecast the courses under the programme.

DigiShala TV Channel

DigiShala TV channel was launched by the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology. The channel was launched to promote cashless transactions. The channel  raise awareness among the citizens about the digital payment ecosystem, processes and benefits. This satellite based channel is managed by Door darshan and is made available through GSAT15 satellite. The channel empowers citizens to use digital payment options such as UPI, e-wallets, USSD and Aadhaar-enabled payment system and cards step by step.