Sheikh Zayed Book Award

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award is a literary award conferred by the Department of Culture and Tourism of Abu Dhabi to those writers, intellectuals and publishers whose works enriched the Arab cultural, literary and social life. It is named in honour of Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the founder of the UAE (federation of seven emirates). Prominent German philosopher Juergen Habermas declined this award recently due to its connection with the UAE’s oppressive regime.


Leave a Reply