Sri Lanka’s Provincial council system

Sri Lanka’s provincial council system was introduced by the 13th Amendment of its Constitution in 1987. It is a power sharing agreement that enables the 9 provinces of Sri Lanka to self-govern. It devolves powers with respect to health, education, agriculture, police, etc. to these councils. This amendment was notably brought in after the 1987 Indo- Sri Lankan Agreement. The role of these provincial councils was discussed during a recent meeting between the Indian External Affairs Minister and the Tamil leaders in Sri Lanka.

Current Affairs