Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons

The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) came into force recently. It is the first nuclear disarmament instrument in more than 2 decades.

Key Points

  • The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement and the United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres have welcomed the treaty.
  • The treaty has been signed by 86 states and ratified by 51 of them.
  • The treaty makes assistance and support to all victims under their jurisdiction like rehabilitation, medical care, and psychological.
  • It also mandates the cleaning of areas known to be contaminated by nuclear use or testing.
  • Nuclear disarmament is the topmost priority of the United Nations.
  • As of now, the United States and Russia have not signed the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.
  • India has also not signed it.


This treaty was initially adopted on adopted in July 2017 and has finally come into force in January 2021. The main aim of the treaty is to prohibit the use of nuclear weapons.