Tulu is a Dravidian language spoken mainly in two districts – Dakshina Kannada and Udupi – of Karnataka and Kasaragod in Kerala. According to the 2011 census, there are 18,46,427 people who speak Tulu in India. It is considered by many experts as one of the earliest Dravidian languages with a 2,000-year history.

Many are calling on the government to give official language status for Tulu and include it in the eight schedule of the Indian Constitution, which currently has 22 languages – Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, Bodo, Santhali, Maithili and Dogri.


Leave a Reply