UK PM Invites PM Modi To Attend G7 Summit 2021

United Kingdom (UK) Foreign Secretary, Dominic Raab, has invited Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi to attend the G7 Summit in 2021.

Key Facts

  • India was formally invited by UK on December 15, 2020.
  • The G7 2021 summit is being called ‘D10’. D10 denotes ten Democracies.
  • The UK foreign secretary highlighted that, Britain is ‘looking forward’ to take the spot in the summit and the G7 presidency. Besides, taking the leadership of United Nations (UN) Climate Change Conference.

G7 summit 2021

The G7 grouping is going to expand this year. The G7 grouping would include ten democracies from across the world. Though, United States had proposed to call the summit in 2021 as ‘G7+4’. But the UK wants organise the summit as G7+3 and has proposed to name as D10 meaning. D10 included the ten Democracies excluding Russia. This year, Britain has proposed to create a new alliance of democracies. It has proposed to include India, South Korea and Australia apart from the G7 nations in the new alliance. This new alliance is being proposed with the motive to discourage the monopoly of China on 5G technology.

UK-India Relation

The G7 2021 host, UK, wants to deepen its economic partnership with India. The British foreign secretary highlighted the United Kingdom’s commitment to build a stronger defence system. It also wants to strengthen the security partnership with India. This partnership would help both the countries to tackle the common concerns such as terrorism and privacy in Western part of Indian Ocean.

Group of Seven (G-7)

G7 is an intergovernmental organization. This organization has been formed to address the international economic and the monetary issues. The grouping comprises of U.S., U.K., Canada, France, Italy, Germany, and Japan. Earlier, the grouping was called as G-8 that included Russia also. In 2014, Russia was suspended from this group after it illegally annexed Crimea.

Current Affairs