UN Secretary General

The Secretary General is the chief administrative officer of the UN. He/she is appointed by the General Assembly (UNGA) based on the recommendation of the 15 membered UNSC (Security Council). The term of office is generally 5 years. The permanent members of the UNSC have veto power in this regard. The current SG is Antonio Guterres who was appointed to office in 2016. As his term nears its end, the UN is looking to take the first steps in electing the next SG by January 31st.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply