G5 Sahel

G5 Sahel is an institutional framework seeking to ensure developmental and security cooperation in West Africa. It was formed in 2014 by five Sahel countries ? Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritia and Niger. It aims to strengthen the economic development and regional security.
Chad recently informed that it will recall half of its 1,200-strong contingent from the multinational G5 Sahel forces in the three-border region of Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso, where thousands have lost their lives because of surging violent activities. These forces were deployed to combat rebel groups in the region. France had earlier informed that it was withdrawing its personnel from this region.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply