Kongu Nadu

Though not officially recognised, Kongu Nadu is a name commonly used to refer to the western part Tamil Nadu. It was mentioned in the Tamil literature as one of the five regions of the ancient Tamil Nadu. The Sangam Literature declared this region to be separate territory. The term is derived from the dominant OBC community Kongu Vellala Gounder.
In the present day Tamil Nadu, the term is used to refer to a region that covers districts of Nilgiris, Coimbatore, Tirupur, Erode, Karur, Namakkal and Salem, as well as Oddanchatram and Vedasandur in Dindgul district, and Pappireddipatti in Dharmapuri district.

Written by IAS POINT

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply