Lonar Lake and Sur Sarovar Declared as Ramsar Sites

The Lonar lake in Maharashtra and Sur Sarovar in Agra, have been added to the list of recognised Ramsar sites.


With these latest addition to the recognised sites of international importance under the Ramsar convention, India has 41 wetlands. This number stands as the highest in South Asia.

Lonar lake

The lake is located in Maharashtra and is the only crater lake of India. The lake  is a notified National Geo-heritage Monument. The Lake was created by an asteroid collision with earth impact during the Pleistocene Epoch.

Sur Sarovar

The sarovar is also known as Keetham lake. It is located in Agra, Uttar Pradesh.


Wetlands are the natural water filters of the world. These are one of the most productive ecosystem on the planet. Wetlands provide a wide range of important resources and ecosystem services including food, water, groundwater recharge, fibre, water purification, erosion control, flood moderation, and climate regulation.

Recently recognised wetlands

  1. Kabartal located in Bihar’s Begusarai district was recognised as a wetland of international importance recently. This is the first Ramsar-designated wetland in Bihar.
  2. Asan Conservation Reserve located in Dehradun became the first wetland from Uttarakhand to be recognised by Ramsar convention. This was added to the list in October 2020.
  3. Nandur Madhameshwar in Maharashtra
  4. Keshopur-Miani, Punjab
  5. Beas Conservation Reserve, Punjab
  6. Nangal in Punjab
  7. Parvati Agra,
  8. Saman, UP
  9. Samaspur, UP
  10. Sandi, UP
  11. SarsaiNawar, UP

Ramsar Sites in India

Apart from the above mentioned sites, the other Ramsar sites in India include:

– Chilika Lake in Odisha,

– Keoladeo National Park in Rajasthan,

– Harike Lake in Punjab,

– Loktak Lake in Manipur and

– Wular Lake in Jammu and Kashmir.

Ramsar Convention

The Ramsar Convention on Wetlands of International Importance is a treaty for the conservation and sustainable use of such sites. The treaty has been named after the Iranian city called Ramsar, where the treaty was signed in 1971. The places chosen for conservation under it are tagged as ‘Ramsar site’. It is one of the oldest inter-governmental accord to preserve the ecological character of wetlands. This convention is also known as the Convention on Wetlands. The treaty is aimed at developing a global network of wetlands for conservation of biological diversity and for sustaining the human life. 170 countries are party to the Ramsar Convention. The convention has recognised over 2,000 designated sites covering over 20 crore hectares.