Rewari-Madar Freight Corridor Section- Key Facts

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has virtually inaugurated the Western Dedicated Freight Corridor’s Rewari-Madar section on January 7. Both the eastern and the western dedicated freight corridors will be game-changer for India and will help in the development of new growth centres across the country.

Key Points

  • The Rewari-Madar section is approximately 306 km long.
  • Around 79km of the Rewari-Madar section is located in the Rewari and Mahendragarh districts of Haryana and about 227km of the section is in Ajmer, Jaipur, Sikar, Alwar, and Nagaur districts of Rajasthan.
  • The Rewari-Madar section consists of 9 newly-built Dedicated Freight Corridor (DFC) stations. Out of these 9, six are crossing stations of New Bhagega, New Dabla, New Pachar Malikpur, New Pachar Malikpur, New Sri Madhopur, New Kishangarh, and New Sakun while the other 3 are junction stations in New Ateli, Rewari, and New Phulera.
  • The opening of this section will be beneficial for different industries in Manesar, Rewari, Narnaul, Kishangarh, and Phulera areas of Rajasthan and Haryana.
  • It will also help in the better utilization of the container depot of CONCOR at Kathuwas.
  • This section also ensures uninterrupted connectivity with the western ports of Pipavav, Kandla, Dahej, and Mundhra in Gujarat.

India’s first double-stack long-haul container train

PM Modi also flagged off the first double-stack long-haul container train of the world from New Ateli-New Kishangarh. The 1.5-km-long container train was hauled by electric traction. The container train was flagged off on the Rewari-Madar section of Western DFC.

Current Affairs