Social Programmes


Changes in social policies were made to address not only the existing social inequity and concerns, but also the serious social impacts that accompanied economic liberalisation and globalisation. The Twenty Point Programme was introduced in 2006. The programme is an umbrella package of social sector schemes and programmes that are administered by various Ministries and implemented by State/Union Territory Governments with the basic objectives of poverty eradication and improving the quality of life of the poor and the under-privileged population of the country.

The broad aspects covered under the programme include poverty, employment, education, housing, health, agriculture, afforestation and environment protection, drinking water, energy to rural areas and welfare of the weaker sections of the society.

Government of India’s Twenty Point Programme

1. Garibi Hatao (Poverty Eradication)

Rural Areas

  • Employment generation under the National Rural Employment Guarantee Act
  • Swaranjayanti Gram Swarojgar Yojana
  • Sampoorna Grameen Rojgar Yojana
  • Rural Business Hubs in Partnership with Panchayats
  • Self Help Groups

Urban Areas

  • Swaranjayanti Shehari Rojgar Yojana

2. Jan Shakti (Power to People)

Local Self Government (Panchayati Raj and Urban Local Bodies)

  • Activity mapping for devolution of functions
  • Budget w of funds
  • Assignment of functionaries
  • Quick and inexpensive justice
  • Gram Nyayalayas and Nyaya Panchayats
  • District Planning Committees

3. Kisan Mitra (support to farmers)

  • Watershed development and dry land farming
  • Marketing and infrastructural support to farmers
  • Irrigation facilities (including minor and micro irrigation) for agriculture
  • Credit to farmers
  • Distribution of waste-land to the landless

4. Shramik Kalyan (labour welfare)

  • Social security for agricultural and unorganised labour
  • Minimum wages enforcement (including farm labour)
  • Prevention of child labour
  • Welfare of women labour

5. Khadya Suraksha (food security)

  • Targeted public distribution system
  • Antodaya Anna Yojana
  • Establishing grain banks in chronically food scarcity areas

6. Subke Liye Aawas (housing for all)

  • Rural housing ‘ Indira Awas Yojana
  • EWS/LIG houses in urban areas

7. Shudh Pey Jal (clean drinking water)

Rural areas

  • Swajaldhara
  • Accelerated Rural Water Supply Programme

Urban areas

  • Accelerated Urban Water Supply Programme

8. Jan Jan Ka Swasthya (health for all)

  • Control and prevention of major diseases:
  • (a) HIV/AIDS””’ (b) TB”’ (c) Malaria’ (d) Leprosy’ ‘(e) Blindness
  • National Rural Health Mission
  • Immunisation of children
  • Sanitation programme in
  • Rural areas
  • Urban areas
  • Institutional delivery
  • Prevention of female foeticide
  • Supplementary nutrition for mothers and children
  • Two child norms

9. Sabke Liye Shiksha (education for all)

  • Sarv Shiksha Abhiyan
  • Mid-Day Meal Scheme
  • Compulsory elementary education

10. Anusuchit Jaati, Jan Jaati, Alp-sankhyak evam Anya Pichhra Varg Kalyan’ (welfare of scheduled castes [SCs], scheduled tribes [STs], minorities and other backward classes [OBCs])

  • SC families assisted
  • Rehabilitation of scavengers
  • Rights of forest dwellers ‘ owners of minor forest produce
  • Primitive tribal groups
  • No alienation of tribal lands
  • Implementation of Panchayats (extension to scheduled areas) Act (PESA)
  • Welfare of minorities
  • Professional education among all minority communities
  • Reservation of BCs in
  • Education
  • Employment

11. Mahila Kalyan (women welfare)

  • Financial assistance for women welfare
  • Improved participation of women in panchayats, municipalities, state legislatures, and parliament

12. Bal Kalyan (child welfare)

  • Universalisation of ICDS Scheme
  • Functional Anganwadis

13. Yuva Vikas (youth development)

  • Sports for all in rural and urban areas
  • Rashtriya Sadbhavana Yojana
  • National Services Scheme

14. Basti Sudhar (improvement of slums)

Urban poor families assisted under seven point charter, viz. land tenure, housing at aordable cost, water, sanitation, health, education, and social security

15. Paryavaran Sanrakshan evam Van Vridhi (environment protection and a?orestation)

  • Afforestation
  • Area covered under plantation of public and forest lands
  • Number of seedings planted on public and forest lands
  • Prevention of pollution of rivers and water bodies
  • Solid and liquid waste management in
  • Rural areas
  • Urban areas

15. Samajik Suraksha (social security)

  • Rehabilitation of handicapped and orphans

16. Welfare of the aged

17. Grameen Sadak (rural roads)

  • Rural roads ‘ Pradhan Mantri Grameen Sadak Yojana

18. Grameen Oorja (energisation of rural areas)

  • Bio-diesel production
  • Rajiv Gandhi Grameen Vidyutikaran Yojana
  • Renewable energy
  • Energizing pump sets
  • Supply of electricity
  • Supply of kerosene and LPG

19. Pichhra Kshetra Vikas (development of backward areas)

  • Backward Regions Grants Fund

20. E-Shasan (IT enabled e-Governance)

  • Central and State Governments
  • Panchayats and municipalities

(Source: Sustainable Development in India: Stocktaking in the run up to Rio+20; Ministry of Environment and Forests, Government of India, 2011)

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply