Subaru Telescope

Subaru Telescope is located at the Mauna Kea Observatory in Hawaii. Named after the open star cluster Pleiades, this 8.2-meter telescope belongs to the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan. It is a Ritchey-Chretien reflecting telescope that was commissioned in the year 1998. Until 2005, it had the largest monolithic primary mirror in the world.
Scientists recently developed a novel technique using a supercomputer called ATERUI II to remove noise in astronomical data, which is caused by random variations in the shapes of galaxies. This technique was tested using the data obtained from the Subaru Telescope.

Written by IAS POINT

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply