UP Government approved the Ganga Expressway Project

The Uttar Pradesh government has approved its ambitious Ganga Expressway project on November 26, 2020. Total length of the project is  594 kilometres. The project would cost rupees 36,402 crore.

Key Facts

  • The Ganga Expressway Project will run along the river from Hardwar to Allahabad.
  • The expressway will be running through the cities including the Meerut, Hapur, Bulandshahr, Sambhal, Amroha, Shahjahanpur, Unnao, Hardoi, and Rae Bareli.
  • The decision od the approval was taken in a UP Cabinet meeting that was chaired by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

Other decision by the UP cabinet

  • The UP Cabinet also approved the district-wise alignment of the Expressway.
  • The cabinet further decided to monetise the Agra-Lucknow Expressway.
  • The money coming from the Agra-Lucknow Expressway would be utilized to fund the Ganga Expressway project.
  • A high-power committee will also be set up in accordance with the cabinet decision. The committee would take procedural and operational decisions on monetising the Agra-Lucknow Expressway.

Ganga Expressway

It is a proposed six lane greenfield expressway project in Uttar Pradesh. The project was launched on January 29, 2019 by the Chief minister, Yogi Adityanath. The 594 kms Expressway will be completed in two phases. Phase-1 of the project would pass through 13 districts including Meerut, Amroha, Bulandshahr, Budaun, Shahjahanpur, Kannauj, Unnao, Rae Bareli, Pratapgarh.  It will end at Malawan Khurd village in Prayagraj District. While the Phase-2 of the project would consists of a 110 km long section connecting Tigri tonearby  Haridwar and a 314 km section that will connect Prayagraj to Ballia. Phase 1 of the project would be completed by 2025.

Current Affairs