Varahagiri Venkata Giri

Varahagiri Venkata Giri was born on August 10, 1894 in Madras. He was the fourth president of India from August 24, 1969 to August 24, 1974. He was the only President to be elected as an independent candidate.
Giri received Bharat Ratna in 1975. As a leading freedom fighter and a labour leader, he fought for the rights of the working class. During his term as the President, he signed two revolutionary documents ? the Shimla Agreement (the peace treaty between India and Pakistan) and the bank nationalisation bill of 1969, which continues to shape the Indian economy even today.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply