UN Resolution to Safeguard the Religious Sites

The United Nations has passed the “promoting a culture of peace and tolerance to safeguard religious sites” resolution.  This resolution was sponsored by Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and other members of the Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC). India also supports the resolution; However, it has criticized Pakistan for co-sponsoring the resolution after the demolition of a Hindu temple in Pakistan.

Features of the resolution

  • The newly passed resolution condemns all the acts of violence and destruction which targets the religious sites across world.
  • It also denounces any move that forcibly convert any religious sites. It also condemns the religious conversions.
  • The resolution further rejects the violence to express any point of view which is related to protection of the religious practices.

United Nations Plan of Action to safeguard religious sites

The United Nations Plan of action to safeguard religious sites was adopted under the “promoting a culture of peace and tolerance to safeguard religious sites” resolution. The plan was adopted so as to remind the universality of religious sites. It also seeks to map the religious sites across the world to develop them. The UN plan of action has adopted three basic principles:

  • To give respectto the people across the world irrespective of their faith and culture.
  • To instil the Responsibilityso as to build the cooperation among member countries.
  • To ensure the better communication among member countries.
  • To stand together and stay together so as to ensure the unity.

Further, the United Nations Strategy and Plan of Action on Hate Speech has been launched to reduce hate speech and violence related to hate speech in the world. This has been launched to promote the education programmes so as to protect the religious sites. The plan highlights that, education is the best tool to address hate speech issues.

Organisation of Islamic Cooperation (OIC)

This organization was founded in the year 1969. It consists of 57 member states. It has permanent delegations to the United Nations and the European Union. Arabic, English, and French are the official languages of the OIC.

Written by IAS POINT

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply