Antarctic Treaty System

Antarctic Treaty System

The Antarctic Treaty and related agreement, collectively called Antarctic Treaty System (ATS) regulate international relations with respect to Antarctica, Earth�s only continent without a native population. For the purpose of treaty system, Antarctica is defined as all of the land and ice shelves south of 60oS latitude. The treaty entering into force in 1961 and eventually signed by 45 countries, set aside Antarctica as a scientific preserve, establishes freedom of scientific investigation and bans military activity on that continent. The treaty was first arms control agreement established during the cold war. The Antarctic Treaty Secretariat Headquarters is located in Buenos Aires (Argentina).

Hyderabad Convention on Biodiversity

The Eleventh conference of UN Convention on Biologic al Diversity was inaugurated by the Prime Minister of India Dr. Manmohan Singh on 16th October, 2012 at Hyderabad. It was agreed in this conference that the developed nations to double funds for biodiversity conservation. Among the beneficiaries of enhanced funding would be ecologically or Biologically significant Areas in the oceans, notably the Sargasso Sea,

Written by princy

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply